Duane Roth Achievement Award

The Duane Roth Award


Duane Roth Achievement Award

The Duane Roth Achievement Award is bestowed upon patient-focused leaders in health care whose work has overcome scientific, financial, institutional, political and cultural challenges to create new paradigms in research and treatment. Named after Duane Roth, an esteemed leader in the biotech industry who died tragically following a bicycle accident in 2013, the award is given to those who demonstrate his deep commitment to innovation and the patient.

The UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center Industry/Academia Symposium

Since 2005, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center's Office of Industry Relations annually organizes the Industry/Academia Translational Oncology Symposium - a unique forum where distinguished investigators, scientists, and clinicians join top industry decision-makers to discuss the latest breakthroughs in translational oncology research. Presentation subjects include personalized medicine, targeted therapy discoveries, collaborative clinical trials and case studies of successful collaborative projects. An interactive panel session composed of industry and academia panelists and the concluding networking reception allow for further dialogue of ideas and the fostering of collaborative relationships.

The Duane Roth Achievement Award has proudly been presented as part of the Symposium since 2014.